The Eternal Dilemma


Today, I had difficult task of deciding how to use my 25% off voucher at Borders.  I had a look at a couple of Australian books that have been winning awards and getting a lot of press, Christos Tsiolkas’s The Slap and Nam Le’s The Boat.  The former didn’t really grab me; the latter was tough to tear myself away from.  After way too much faffing around, I finally settled on Yukio Mishima’s Forbidden Colours, which is going to slip somewhere in my growing pile of books to read.

At the moment, I’m reading Haruki Murakami’s Norwegian Wood.  I’m also making my way through The Elements of Style by William Strunk Jr and E.B. White, which was recommended by a friend who said my writing was “verbose”.  Last night, I lulled my wife to sleep with the beautiful verse, “The pronominal possessives hers, its, theirs, yours, and ours have no apostrophe.  Indefinite pronouns, however, use the apostrophe to show possession.”  Inspiring stuff.

One Response to The Eternal Dilemma

  1. Sarah says:

    I was enjoying this post, particularly those dry grammar rules, until I realised that I have been breaking the ‘pronominal possessive’ rule left, right and centre. Ouch.

Leave a Reply

