2009 Nobel Prize for Literature winner

The 2009 Nobel Prize for Literature was awarded to German author Herta Mueller on Thursday.  As usual, the BBC provides in depth coverage and a video of her acceptance speech.

As a follower of Stephen Romei’s excellent A Pair of Ragged Claws blog on The Australian website (which I suppose makes me a “Clawster”), I was excited by his speculation that fellow Australian Les Murray and Japanese novelist Haruki Murakami were in the running for the Nobel.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: